List of lessons
Back to all categories

End of semester workspace management

Tips for ending your semester — sharing murals and managing members

Export murals and upload them to your class LMS or share a view-only visitor link with students
Remove students from the workspace at the end of the semester

Recommended workspace maintenance between classes‍

At the end of the semester/quarter, review your membership settings and remove students who will no longer be collaborating in your class to free up space for future students. We recommend giving your students a two-week warning before their workspace access is revoked. 

Before removing the students, we recommend exporting and sharing their murals so they don’t lose access to the work they completed. Alternately, you can share a view-only visitor link with your students.



Was this lesson helpful?

Thanks for the feedback! This will help us improve our content.
If you still need help or guidance please contact the support team
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
We don't have transcripts for this lesson yet, but we are working hard to add transcripts to all our learning content. If you need help, or guidance, please contact our support team.

Hi, my name is Jeff, I'm with the education team at MURAL and I also teach design thinking UC Berkeley. Today's video is speaking about how to end your semester. In person we always work to put together that final PowerPoint to really drive home the key takeaways from our class, perhaps make a connection to a current event or look to spark an emotional response from the students to send them on their way. In the digital world, that still applies in terms of having a great story to tell however, how do we capture the mural in a way that allows students to continue to have access to that very valuable work they've done throughout the semester? Well, very simply said you have a few options.

The first is you may leave them as members of your mural workspace, but pretty quick, you're going to fill up that membership capacity and we're going to have to make some tough choices.

Let me show you what I would recommend. We come here to managing our team or our mural board members. And as you'll see, I have myself here, my business account, and this, I can remove myself as a member. And this is about to remove this person. And I removed them from the mural. In my experience very few students come back to a mural after the semester, and if they do, they can email me and I'll happily give them their access back. But understanding that you do have a limited number of memberships, it's good hygiene to clean up. Next you may also give your students a visitors link and a visitor link is evergreen. It lasts until you reset that link. So if we're working on one board for a project, we simply click share visitor link copy, and this is the same link that they would have received at the beginning of the semester to access the board.

That said, if you'd like students to not have access to that board, for some reason, perhaps you're going to clean it up and reuse the same board, next semester, you can simply click reset link and it changes the link to evergreen status. Finally, if you wanted to ensure the students didn't edit that information you can change the permissions here, copy that link and then send what is in essence a view only link to students.

So there's a few options there. However, the cleanest option in my opinion is to just simply export the mural to a PDF. This is exactly what we talked about. When we were looking at grading in mural, exporting to a PDF, then uploading it to your LMS. Very similar here, we'll export the mural to a PDF. Then we'll come to a, what I like to do is I upload the file to my Canvas site. We use Canvas at Berkeley. You may use Blackboard or any other LMS system. Here we would just simply type an announcement. Hey, great semester. Here's your team's final mural, insert the link and send that off to your students. So again, the best hygiene as we like to say for the end of this semester is to first manage your members and move them either to guests, or just remove them from your workspace altogether. If you want them to continue to have access to the canvas, you can share a visitor link. But we would recommend resetting that visitor link at the end of the semester, if you want to manage that access. And the simplest way is to simply create a PDF, download it, and then distributed by your LMS or email to your students.

Thanks for taking the time to learn about end of semester cleanup, please visit mural.co/education to find more tips, tricks, and future webinars to join, to bring MURAL into your classroom.